Lytchett Minster & St Dunstan's Upton

Parish Church History


Records of the history of the church are sparse, and dedication is "officially unknown." For a church to be without a dedication is not unique, and indicates an unwillingness to choose or retain a saint's name. There is speculation that the name of the near by public house, St Peter's Finger, may have a bearing on the original name of the church. The registers and other parish documents are in the Dorset County Archives  in Dorchester. They date back to 1554 in the reign of Mary Tudor. The word "Minster" is an old English alternative for monastery and therefore suggests a monastic community on this site in medieval times.

In the churchyard west of the tower can be found the grave of Sir Frances Younghusband, soldier, explorer and mystic, who died in Lytchett Minster in 1942. Above the inscription on the gravestone are the Himalayan Mountains which he crossed in 1904.

For further information please have a look at the following pages.

History

Bell Ringers and information about the Bells

Click Lees Family  to view or download a short article (pdf) about the family and the Church.  You can listen to the recording of the funeral of Sir Tom Lees here

updated 6/3/16

  • Parish Church History